Snub Training – Question to Blog Readers – 01

Dear Fellow Snub Shooters:

I hope this note finds you well.

I am about one third through the snub information I planned to put up on the blog before forwarding the material for formal publishing.

Before starting on the second third of this material I would like to ask for your assistance.

I would like to start collecting a few bits of information regarding serious snub shooters and their snub equipment choices.

Each Sunday I will post an inquiry your willingness permitting, I will then collect the information for use it in future blog posting topics.

Your assistance in this effort would be greatly appreciated.

This weeks question is:

What make and model of snub revolver do you most often carry?

You can either respond via the blog or more directly via my e-mail at SnubTraining@hotmail.com – Attention Blog Question 01

Thank you for your kind assistance.

Yours,

Michael de Bethencourt

Michael de Bethencourt

Michael de Bethencourt

45 Responses to Snub Training – Question to Blog Readers – 01

  1. Dan says:

    Good Eve,

    I have yet to acquire (next week) my first snub. It is an M&P 340. So, the following comments do not come from one who is currently a dedicated snub shooter, but from one who plans to be.

    First,

    Great blog, read it every day and actually look forward to the reading.

    Second,

    As mentioned, Smith & Wesson – M&P 340 (.357 magnum).

    Third,

    Arrived here (originally) from a post on Hell in a Handbasket. And, I read both with equal enthusiasm.

    Last,

    Great information in your blog and I look forward to many future posts. Thank you for taking the time.

  2. Steven Tobacco says:

    My most common carry snub is a S&W 342 because it is so darned light. I tell myself that I’ll carry one of my heavier ones, but I seem to gravitate to the light one for pocket carry.

  3. when carrying a snub-nosed revolver for my defense, I opt for a S&W Model 10-5.

    It is an all steel K-frame, nice and heavy, and it damps down recoil extremely well. Manufactured when Eisenhower was president, it is still going strong.

    The weight is certainly greater than the wonders of today, with their alloy and titanium frames. But it has proven to be the favorite of my elderly students, people who have a problem with muzzle flip jarring their arthritic hands.

    • Michael deBethencourt says:

      Dear James:

      I hope this note finds you well.

      Thank you for your fee-back.

      I will be collecting this info and will use in tin a future blog

      Yours,

      Michael de Bethencourt

      978-667-5591

  4. […] You can help Michael out either by dropping him a line at “SnubTraining@hotmail.com – Attention Blog Question 01″, or you can follow this link and leave a comment on his blog. […]

  5. DaveP. says:

    My normal carry handgun is a Glock 23 in a Summer Special holster, but I also own a S&W 442 Airweight that I carry in a DeSantis Nemesis pocket holster. I have a couple of pairs of Dockers that are a size too big and the holster just vanishes in a front pocket. This comes in when I have to go somewhere that my usual IWB carry would stick out too badly or be too unconfortable: some parties, high summer outdoor events, et cetera.

    I don’t really consider it as a great self-defense gun compared to a decent automatic or most larger-frame revolvers (only five shots of a fairly low-powered cartridge; plus the aluminum frame makes the recoil something you have to put up with) but while it isn’t ‘the best’ it can be ‘the best I can carry right now’, and that’s important too.

  6. Huey148 says:

    My daily carry as of late has been a Kel-Tec P3AT, but I keep my S&W 637 with bobbed hammer clean for duty when I am able to wear jeans on cooler nights. I think the snub is fine for what it is intended for, up close and personal. I certainly won’t be entering any IDPA comps with it, but it is a great gun for those who know its limitations as well as its abilities.

    As far as the cartridge, .38+P is not a underpowered cartridge if used with the proper ammo. Especially considering the distance you would expect to use it and the fact that hopefully you will be able to employ multiple rounds on a target.

  7. Scott says:

    I’m old school:

    S&W Model 36 .38 spl, in a belly band.
    Hornady 125g XTP in the cylinder.
    Reloads are UMC 125g +p (barely) in a safariland speedloader, and 2×6 round speed strips in the belly band mag pockets.

    Good blog, lost of good snubby info.

  8. Brass says:

    Ruger SP-101 in .357 is my snub of choice. I’m a fairly large guy so the extra size and weight as compared to most other snubs doesn’t bother me.

  9. Mike says:

    S&W Model 36 Chief’s Special. I have changed out the grips to a larger rubberized set that fits my hand better. Ammunition is the Federal 125 grain soft lead hollow points (designed for the snubbie, I believe).

  10. hsoi says:

    I usually do not carry a snub. If however I do, it’s a S&W 442

  11. Zack says:

    Disclaimer: My home state of Illinois only allows carry on my property, so I cannot claim any full-time concealed carry experience.

    Carry in an around the house being legal, I usually trudge through 8-12 hours of chores with a S&W 640 (first choice) or the S&W 442 (second choice). Seecamp .380 is in my left pocket.

  12. Brian says:

    S&W 642. I’ve added a Crimson Trace LG-105 lasergrip, although I may upgrade to the rubber overmolded type when finances permit.

    I am experimenting with a Galco Cop Ankle band for summertime, and I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how comfortable it is (and well concealed).

    5x Remington Golden Saber 125 gr .38+P plus 12 on Speed Strips

  13. John says:

    I’ve always been more of a semi-auto guy even back when revolvers were still standard issue but I do like the S&W Model 360 (in .357mag) in a backup capacity. Not really a fun gun but I trust it to get the job done if called upon and that’s what matters to me.

  14. Kyle says:

    Model 60 Smith and Wesson.

    I use the Galco Cop ankle band and a pocket holster, I have a Don Hume on order. I have the .357 Golden Sabers loaded in it at the moment.

    In winter I have a nice Bianchi snap holster that is going to see serious use.

  15. John says:

    Michael,

    I carry the only snub that I own…a Taurus Model 85.

  16. k55f5r says:

    I’ve carried a few snubs in my day, but my favorite was my Colt Cobra .38. I’ve had a S&W Chiefs Special(.38), a Colt Agent(.38), a Colt Diamondback 2.5bbl(.38) and a Colt Python 2.5bbl (357).
    The Cobra was the most user friendly and tractable of them all due to the grips, the weight, and the sight picture. 38+P gets the job done just fine.

  17. Robert says:

    My snubs of choice are a Taurus 617Ti 7 shot .357 with a Ruger LCR .38 +P as a bug. I also use a Walther PPS in 9mm with the LCR as a bug when not using a snub as a main gun.

    In a rush with light clothing I will only run with the Ruger LCR along with a few reloads in a speed strip.

    Hope this helps.

    Robert

  18. Seth says:

    Michael,

    I carry a S&W 642-1 (current production no lock) with a set of CT LG405s on it. I have three other snubs but this is the one carried the most. Load of choice is Speer GD 135gr.+P JHPs or the re-released Federal Nyclad 125gr.LHPs. Holster is an Uncle Mike’s pocket holster carried in the right front pocket. Reload is a full speed strip.

    Seth

  19. Chris Byrne says:

    I carry an S&W 340pd, loaded with Speer short barrel gold dots; in a DeSantis Nemesis, in my front strongside pocket.

    I have a dump pouch, a pair of speed strips, and a cell phone holster that holds three speedloaders. I usually carry the dump pouch, because I dont even notice it on my belt.

    I shoot full house practice loads through it for practice.

  20. Chris Byrne says:

    Oh and I have the Crimson Trace laser grips on it, but I didn’t buy the special CT version. I bought the larger CT grips for it, and carry with them.

    The gun handles much better with the larger grips; and I see no difference in concealment (though I am a very large man, with big pockets).

  21. GP says:

    I carry a S&W 442-1 as a primary off duty and as a BUG on duty with Speer GDHP 135 grain. I find the Airweights to be the best weight for carry and most controllable for follow ups. Outfitted with Barami hip grips and a Tyler T it makes it a most versatile carry gun.

    For pocket carry in a Kramer holster, I switch to low profile Eagle Secret Service Grips. One Speed Strip with 4 rounds is my reload.

    I run Big Dots on my Glock 27 and would like to have them gunsmithed onto the 442.

  22. Jonathan says:

    Michael,

    My every day carry is a S&W 642 (with a lock…I know, I’m working on that) in a pocket holster. If I can wear an untucked shirt, I’ll usually switch to a Tucker Gunleather Cover-Up IWB holster at 1 O’Clock position. Right now, I have Corbon DPX in it, but going to try some of the Buffalo Bore WC and lead HP soon.

    Keep up the great work,
    Jonathan

  23. PeterT says:

    Michael,

    Taurus 605 .357 snubbie.

  24. Jay says:

    Michael,

    I’m split about even between three guns. I carry a Colt Gov’t 380, tricked out by Doug McDougall when I’m dressed up. The rest of the time it’s a toss up between a Charter Arms Bulldog in .44 spl or a Charter Arms Pit Bull in 9mm Fed. Luckily I have a supply of the brass for the 9mm Fed.

  25. Sam says:

    I consistently carry a concealed handgun, both at home and away. At home, depending on the cut of pants I’m wearing, I carry either a S&W 327 PC 2″ (custom bobbed hammer) or a S&W 340PD, both in Mika’s pocket holsters. I load Buffalo Bore .357 Mag 158 JHP “Tactical Low Flash/Low Recoil” in the 327, and Speer .38+P 135 Gold Dots in the 340. Away from home, I carry one of the pocket guns and a S&W 327 Night Guard (custom bobbed hammer) in an IWB Simply Rugged holster. I use the Tuff Products 8 round speed strips in a Tuff Products belt case for reloads, or a HKS Speed Loader for the 340PD. By the way, no function problems at all with either of the 327’s, and both are very accurate and controllable with the Buffalo Bore .357’s.

  26. Nylarthotep says:

    My first carry gun was a Colt detective special (2″ bbl in 38spl).

    Didn’t like the hammer since it snagged, but was a nice gun under a coat with just about any type of holster.

    I went to the Springfield 1911 compact when I found better holsters. But you can’t really carry it in the summer. Well, I can’t.

    Now I’m using the Keltech P3AT with crimson trace sites in a Nemesis pocket holster. I’m a little worried about the power though. But with the laser sites I’m pretty certain I’ll be hitting the mark without much trouble.

    I’ve looked at some of the newer wheel guns and sometimes wonder if I should go back to that style.

  27. Alex says:

    S&W 442 in a DeSantis Nemesis pocket holster.

  28. Thank you for including your readers in your monograph.

    I use the Smith and Wesson Model 60-7 in pre lock configuration.
    38 LHP with a spare speed strip.

  29. Kristopher says:

    S&W Airweight, Model 38 Bodyguard. Crimson Trace hard plastic grip, converted to full moon clips, with a bunch of clipped up ammo in my backpack pocket.

    And an NAA minirevolver in my pocket.

  30. Kristopher says:

    And a pocket holster from “Guru” at Smyrna Shooters Supply.

  31. Chris Byrne says:

    I have the same Guru Dave pocket holster for my Kel-Tec P3AT.

    I carried it every day for four years until I bought the 340pd. Great pocket gun, great pocket holster.

  32. Frank Wille says:

    I carry a S&W Airweight Bodyguard Model 638 w/ Crimson Trace Lasergrips. I love it! I have yet to found any semiauto that I enjoy carrying more.

  33. Dale says:

    S&W 642 w/ Crimson Trace, carried either in the front right pocket or on the left ankle.

  34. Rick says:

    S&W 442 with the the stock Uncle Mike boot grips and a Clipdraw. Works well. I have used the Barami Hip Grip, which also works well, but I prefer the Clipdraw. When wearing slacks and a tucked-in shirt, I use a SmartCarry. I practice drawing from it often.

  35. Gypsy Jane says:

    Smith & Wesson Airweight .38 special +p
    Model 642.

  36. Jim Balog says:

    I’ve retired w/ a bad back, so weight in a carry gun is a BIG issue. My #1 snub is a S&W 340 loaded w/ a standard pressure 110 or 125 gr. 38 load. I am also fond of my Taurus 85 UL , my S&W 638, and my Charter 44 Spl.( Speer Gold Dot 200 gr. HP).
    All of my snubs have been converted to DA only, had the hammer spurs removed and all wear Crimson Trace Laser Grips. I will occasionally carry 2. usually the 340 in a front pocket and one of the others on my right hip.

  37. Ed says:

    Taurus Model 85 SS Ultralite with Uncle Mikes boot grips. thinking of going to the Bodyguard type with the shrouded hammer but like it a lot. Also have a Ruger Police Service 6 SS with 2-3/4″ bbl in .357, heavy but shoots great.

  38. Matthew says:

    I carry two equally often, depending on clothing of the day. An SP-101 with Hogue rubber grips or a 642 with hip grips and a Tyler T-grip.

  39. Richard says:

    Ruger SP101 on my belt and an LCR in a pocket, both loaded with Hornady FTX .38 Special.

  40. Flash says:

    Carrried a S&W 36, as is = spur-hammmer and all, for a number of years in a small generic IWB holster. As I got fatter, the spur became a bigger annoyance and I moved to a Charter Arms Undercover with the bobbed (but SA/DA hammer). Two 6-shot Speed strips in the off-side pocket and an “Ammo-Wallet” in the hip pocket.

    Now, I have a love-affair with a KelTec P-11 and the revolvers only get range-time.

  41. Shane says:

    Two 638 Bodyguards daily with one Safari Land Comp-1 and one speed strip.

  42. Chuck Haggard says:

    I carry one or two S&W 642s daily. I normally carry one off-duty as a BUG to my Glock 17 or 19, on duty I carry both as BUGs to my G17.

    On duty carry is ankle and weak side pocket, off-duty varies with clothing from ankle, or weak side pocket, or AIWB.

  43. bulldog says:

    You know this is so ironic. basically explains all.

  44. shivam says:

    glock 19 holster
    – Welcome to DeSantisHolster.com, your online source for the finest Concealment Holsters, Inside the Waistband Holsters and Gun Holsters for every major weapon manufacturer and model.

Leave a Reply

