Snub Training – All Lead Hollow Points

Buffalo Bore .38 Lead Hollow point ammunition

Buffalo Bore .38 Lead Hollow point ammunition

Nothing in the above should be misconstrued as discouraging the use of hollow point ammunition. If the shooter can find several brands of ammunition that fulfill the Reliability/ACLU requirement and one brand is a hollow point and the other is not, choose the hollow point.  While the majority of conventional hollow point ammunition will not exit from a two inch snub with sufficient velocity to be counted on to reliably expand, the potential safety of reduced over penetration combined with any possible expansion makes the hollow point the preferred choice.

Massad Ayoob has reported that statistically the .38 all-lead hollow point delivers roughly the same “stopping power” of a .45 ball round when striking the body target, while at the same time producing a lower percentage chance of over penetrating. This is do to the greater chance of an all lead bullet deforming on impact sooner that a jacket bullet.

It should be noted that the two best known authorities in the self-defense ballistics field, Dr. Martin Flackler and Evan Marshall, two men popularly know to agree over very little, both agree on the use of the all-lead .38 hollow point as a self-defense round.

9 Responses to Snub Training – All Lead Hollow Points

  1. John says:

    Michael,

    Thanks for the helpful post. I found you website a couple of weeks ago and have really enjoyed it. Additionally, I have been checking this blog consistently ever since. Thank you for the excellent information.

    Do you ever expect to conduct snubby or edged weapons seminars in the Southeast? I would love to attend both.

    • snubtraining says:

      Dear John:

      Thank you for the kind words.

      I am very happy to hear that you are enjoying the material.

      I am very much looking forward to bringing the snub training programs to the south east.

      I am always looking for area clubs and/or ranges that will rent classroom and range access and have space to hold eight students (class size max.)

      If you might know of an area range you would like me to contact, please feel free to pass along the club name, city and state. If you have a possible contact number and/or name that would be great.

      I will be happy to contact the club and see if we might schedule something in the future.

      Thank you again for the kind words and I hope you will continue to enjoy the posts.

      Yours,

      Michael de Bethencourt
      info@SnubTraining.com

  2. John says:

    Michael,

    I will work on getting a couple of possibilities and the contact information. I hope to get it for you in the next week or two.

    Thanks,

    John

  3. Jonathan says:

    Michael,

    I noticed this post on Lead HP and got me to thinking about carry ammo. I’ve read some good results with the Buffalo Bore Full Wadcutters and was thinking of trying them out too. Any thoughts about using full WC for self defense?

    Any progress on San Antonio ranges? If you need any leg work, please let me know.

    Thanks,
    Jonathan

  4. Jonathan says:

    Michael,

    I never saw anything. Any thoughts on full WC for SD ammunition (particularly Buffalo Bore)?

    Thanks,
    Jonathan

    • Michael deBethencourt says:

      Dear Jonathan:

      I hope this note finds you well.

      I think for some shooters it is a very good option.

      Jim Cirillo’s bartner in with the famed NY Stake-Out squad used them during their anti-robbery days.

      The wad cutters cut clean holes and can “bite” into curved surfaces (like skulls) better than most other bullet shapes.

      If a shooter is having trouble mastering accuracy with a heavier bullet but is very accurate with the full wad cutter – I wouldn’t have any concerns.

      My house guns are loaded with Buffalo Bore’s wad cutters because odds are that my wife will need the gun should I be away from the house.

      She is deadly accurate with their non +P wad cutters.

      Only if the shooter can be “self-defense accurate” with a more traditional semi-wad cutter hollow point I would more them up to it, but until them the wad cutters should be fine.

      Reloading in a rush would be a nightmare but that is why we have more than one secured house gun.

      I hope that info helps.

      Yours,

      Michael

      • snubtraining says:

        Dear Jonathan:

        I hope this note finds you well.

        I think for some shooters it is a very good option.

        Jim Cirillo’s partner in with the famed NY Stake-Out squad used them during their anti-robbery days.

        The wad cutters cut clean holes and can “bite” into curved surfaces (like skulls) better than most other bullet shapes.

        If a shooter is having trouble mastering accuracy with a heavier bullet but is very accurate with the full wad cutter – I wouldn’t have any concerns.

        My house guns are loaded with Buffalo Bore’s wad cutters because odds are that my wife will need the gun should I be away from the house.

        She is deadly accurate with their non +P wad cutters.

        Only if the shooter can be “self-defense accurate” with a more traditional semi-wad cutter hollow point I would more them up to it, but until them the wad cutters should be fine.

        Reloading in a rush would be a nightmare but that is why we have more than one secured house gun.

        I hope that info helps.

        Yours,

        Michael

  5. Rony says:

    I have been looking looking around for this kind of information . Will you post some more in future? I’ll be grateful if you will. Keep writing spirit

Leave a Reply

